One of those days

17 Aug

This is one of those days where it kills me to be away from Baby R. It’s not that there’s anything wrong with her or me or anything serious, but after spending three whole days with her this weekend, going back to work this week was not easy.

Overall, as a working Mom, I’ve been fine leaving her with the nanny each day. Her nanny is a wonderful woman who loves her and she gets lots of hugs and kisses and playtime with her little friends. But there are some days – like today – when I just want to be a Mom. I don’t want to have to worry about client affairs, reports getting done or what strategy works best for this campaign. I just want to be home with my daughter. I want to be that Mom you see walking to the park, running errands and standing on the front porch waiting for Daddy to come home.

Obviously this little idyllic world I’ve just described is much more complicated. There are diaper changes, screaming fits, teeth announcing themselves, and other lovelies that come with being a parent on a day-to-day basis. Don’t get me wrong, I love my job (really I do) and I love being a working Mom – to me I get to have adult interaction and intelligent interactions, but I am still a Mom. I can provide for my child, support her, nurture her and watch her grow (she’s not a plant, I promise) all while being my professional self, and my Mom self. It’s a pretty neat thing that I have chosen to do – and am lucky enough to do – not only because I have a great husband, but because I work for a great company. It’s just that every once in a while, I want to be selfish and have Baby R all to myself for the day, and worry about nothing else other then what will the two of us do today?!

Right now, however, I’m going to settle for looking forward to the best part of my day. And, that is getting home and seeing that huge toothless grin and those fat little legs start to kick in excitement because Mommy is home. And that is why, right now, I really really want to be home.

One Response to “One of those days”

  1. Blair Koehl August 18, 2010 at 8:55 pm #

    Dear Hils,

    I think your piece speaks for millions of Moms, just like you. I found it so touching, so “right on”, and think you could /should publish it. Congrats on putting your conflicted feelings into such eloquent words; you have a gift.

Leave a Reply

