No speaking required

11 Aug

Modern technology amazes me. Hubby and I had a little spat this morning and left the house grumbling to ourselves about what a turkey the other one was. 2 hours later, bzzzz, the cell phone vibrated with a text message from Hubby saying “I’m sorry” etc. I proceeded to text him back (after I let him stew of course!) and we had a rather involved discussion without ever uttering a word. Now, if we had been at home, we obviously would have been actually speaking to each other, but because of SMS, we could have a fight, make up and continue talking without even speaking to each other.

On one hand, I find it disturbing that I find this cool – I am a communications guru – I LIVE for talking, speaking, interacting and hanging out with people – IN PERSON. I should be all about face-to-face conversations. But on the other hand, I think its great. Really great. I can handle personal business at work without ever uttering a word – thereby not only not bugging my podmates, but also not spouting my personal life into my office environment. I love the people I work with, but they don’t need (or want I’m sure) to know about my personal life. In this instance, because of texting, they didn’t have to.

Hubby recently pointed out that I have an entire life online that he knows little to nothing about. Not because I hide it from him – if anything I try to force him to read this blog (he really doesn’t care) – but because its almost a silent life, in that I’m not physically speaking to people. Technology allows for me to be able to express myself and promote those expressions even though I’m just a regular person. I’m not famous, I’m not on TV, and I don’t have a publicist. Yet, I can reach people I don’t even know exist just by blogging, tweeting or particpating in discussion on the web. So there’s me as a person, and me as an online person. I can be anyone I want to be online, and best of all, for me at least, its the real me. These are MY thoughts, opinions, and views that I can discuss and chat about without involving people who aren’t interested. If you want to read my blog, talk on Twitter or post a comment great – if you don’t – you can click on another post, visit a different site, or – in my husband’s case – ignore the internet completely.

Leave a Reply

