Response Post #9

31 Mar

Wikipedia Demons

I still hate it. I mean, seriously, what is the point of an encyclopedia that “anyone” can edit if that’s not really the case?! Also, the fact that an encyclopedia that “anyone” can edit seems like an oxymoron to me. Aren’t encyclopedia’s supposed to be academic gold, whose authors are serious, studious and knowledgeable about their topics? Or least the editors of encyclopedia’s should be – the editors at Wikipedia gain notoriety because they are extremely active on the site. Whether that’s from excitement, geekiness or loserness I’m not sure but I have my suspicions.

Not to beat a dead horse, but if it’s supposed to be editable by anyone, why the dog and pony show before you can actually submit your changes? You need a crash course in HTML coding before you can even have a glimmer of hope that your edits won’t be reversed. Who has time for that. It took me a good 2 hours to complete my entry because I couldn’t figure out the damn coding errors I kept getting. I’m still not sure it’s done correctly, but without a wikipedia expert sitting next to me, it will  have to do.

Don’t get me wrong, I think Wikipedia is great for blog linking, quick fact checking, and general web surfing, but to create a community encyclopedia and then make if difficult (although they swear its easy) for a normal everyday person to edit is weird. It’s almost as if they want people to get frustrated and not edit entries so that their editors have free reign over what is and is not posted to the web.

I freely contribute to the web and social media, but I don’t think Wikipedia is going to be on my list. Once I’m finished with this assignment, its goodbye Wikipedia. I just don’t care enough, or have enough of a vested interest to learn it, master it, and then stalk my entry to make sure its finessed Wikipedia style. Because, who really cares except a few small people with no time on their hands?”

Leave a Reply

